Financial Obligations of the Responsible Person(s)

The responsible person(s), which are the parent(s), guardian(s), or custodian(s) of the juvenile, is financially responsible for the juvenile.  Each type of payment required, and the due date for each type of payment, is stated in the court orders or the deferred prosecution agreement.  The most common fees include the following:

Supervision Fee
For both official probation and deferred prosecution, the responsible person(s) may be required to pay a monthly supervision fee.  The fee will be $5.00, $10.00 or $15.00 per month, depending on the financial situation of the family.  The fee may be waived in rare cases.  This fee may not be paid in advance.  For example, if a $5.00 fee is ordered for six months, the responsible person(s) may not bring in a payment of $30.00 the first month.  Supervision fees must be made by money order only.  Money orders are made payable to WCJPD.

Court Fee
If a child is placed on official, court-ordered probation, a court fee of $20.00 may be ordered.  The fee must be paid within 30 days of the court date.  Court fees are paid at the District Clerk’s Office, located at 103 South Fulton Street in Wharton, Texas.

Attorney Fee
When an attorney is appointed by the court to represent the juvenile, the responsible person(s) may be required to reimburse Wharton County for the attorney fee, depending on the financial situation of the family.  The attorney fee must be paid within 90 days of the court date.  Attorney fees are paid at the District Clerk’s Office, located at 103 South Fulton Street in Wharton, Texas.

Graffiti Fee
Should a juvenile be placed on official, court-ordered probation for a graffiti charge, the responsible person(s) is required to pay a Juvenile Delinquency Prevention Fee of $50.00.  The fee must be paid within 30 days of the court date.  Graffiti fees are paid at the District Clerk’s Office, located at 103 South Fulton Street in Wharton, Texas.

DNA Fee
The juvenile is required to submit a DNA sample for murder, capital murder, indecency with a child, aggravated kidnapping, aggravated sexual assault, aggravated robbery, controlled or illegal substance felony offense in a drug-free zone and/or controlled or illegal substance offense using a child in commission of the offense, or in an offense for which it is shown that a deadly weapon was used or exhibited.  The responsible person(s) is required to pay a $34.00 fee for the collection and processing of the sample.  That fee must be paid within 30 days of the court date.  DNA fees are paid at the District Clerk’s Office, located at 103 South Fulton Street in Wharton, Texas.

Restitution
When a juvenile causes personal injury, property damage, and/or property loss to his or her victim(s), the victim(s) may request financial restitution.  The responsible person(s) will be required to make monthly payments to the WCJPD totaling the amount requested by the victim or an amount determined by the court.  The WCJPD will pay the victim the collected restitution.  Restitution payments must be made by money order only, payable to WCJPD.  Failure to make the restitution payments will result in further court action.

Wharton County Juvenile Probation Department, 106 E. Milam Street, Wharton, Texas
Phone:  979-532-2465     FAX:  979-532-2571

What Happens When a Juvenile is Referred to the WCJPD  |  Financial Obligations of the Responsible Persons
Juvenile Records  |  Resources  |  Contact  |  Site Map

© Copyright 2012, Wharton County Juvenile Probation Department.
All rights reserved.